First Semester Reflections

I had my last final today, which means that it is officially the end of my first semester as a college student. HOLLA. This is cause for much celebration (Netflix). I have learned many things these four months, some about chemistry and some about psychology, but I learned the most about myself.

I learned that I am a lot more socially inept than I told myself I was. I learned that I value independence above most things. I learned that I can watch an incredibly high amount of Netflix, even during the week. I learned that I have the capability to be a generally productive person. I learned that I always have enough time to do the things I want to do even when it doesn’t feel like it. I learned that I need to have projects outside of schoolwork to keep from going insane from intellectual stagnation. I learned that skipping classes is way too easy and way too enticing. I learned that I really love planning everything, even if there is no way I will follow through with my plans exactly. I learned that creative outlets are also essential to my mental well-being. I learned that it is really hard to maintain a workout schedule when your environment is constantly changing between the week and the weekend. I learned that I want to accomplish things that are unrelated to my career goals. The most important thing I learned is that it may seem to be hard to stand out in a large community of brilliant individuals, but everyone stands out in some way. For me, this has seemed to be my growing productivity skills.

What have you learned about yourself this semester?

Leave a Reply

