Semester Beginnings

If you don’t know, I am a first year Biochemistry major at Georgia Tech. I am also pre-med for now. I am starting my second semester. Yay.

It’s 8 days into the semester. And I’m starting to realize how difficult these four months are actually going to be. The courses I am currently taking this semester are: Quantitative Analysis, Organic Chemistry, Calculus 2, Intro to Biomedicine and Culture, and Intro to Philosophy. The latter two are super easy and interesting and discussion-based. The former three are torturous. Actually, Calc is not that bad. Orgo is also not terrible, but my professor is super boring. Quantitative Analysis is a Chemistry/Biochemistry major course, and apparently is the hardest Chem course we have to take. It is made terribly worse by the fact that my professor has an incredibly thick accent. I am taking 16 credit hours, but the actual class time amounts to a whopping 21 hours. I have a four hour lab from 2-6pm on Fridays, which sucks to no end. I actually have to go to all my classes this semester :(. And the only breaks I have between my classes are 30 min-1 hr lunch breaks. It feels too much like high school I don’t like it.

I’ve been pretty good at maintaining my good study habits. I am still getting my work done by dinner time (holla). I’ve still been watching too much Netflix and reading too many books (though that’s not really possible). I have some exciting events I am volunteering for in the next couple of months. All in all, college is still stressful and overwhelming, but great.

How has your semester been going?

Leave a Reply

